The other day I finally made time for creating my own body loving concoctions. I cooked up a scrumptious lime and mint scrub and a slightly sticky, but delicious Shea butter, Argan and essential oil moisturiser.

The scrub is divine, satisfyingly sweet and full of moisture. I’ve only used it a few times but I’ve already converted to the benefits of oil on the skin. It was soooooo easy to make. Literally weigh your sugar and coconut oil, zest a lime and add some peppermint essential oil, mix it altogether and voila! Just make sure you whip up the coconut oil before adding the rest. I don’t even have a blender, and it still only took 5 minutes.

The moisturiser is a tad sticky on application, but give it 10-15 minutes and it soaks in leaving you deliciously soft and hydrated. I may try adding some rose water next time to see if that makes a difference, but it’ll be a while because you get a lot from your mix. This one was slightly more complicated to make. I had to melt the shea butter, add the argan oil and set in the freezer for 15 minutes. Once this was slightly solid I added the essential oils and whipped it to a lotion before decanting it into a lovely glass jar I’d bought.

But both recipes were super easy and I love the nominal ingredient list, it’s great to be putting something so simple and nourishing on your skin. You can add as many or as few essential oils as you want. Don’t just go on smell, make sure you’re using the right ones for your skin. And much as I love the cute hexagon jars I reckon I need a shallower and wider pot in future.

