Now I realise my last post was quite heavy and bordered on some pretty heavy political and philosophical debates. That’s why in this post I thought I’d share with you the small changes I’m trying to make in my life, to help myself and the planet.

Now I know all the health benefits of becoming vegan, that was never something I disputed and as I mentioned in my previous post, it is what’s pulling me most towards cutting out the animal products. I don’t want pus-filled yoghurt and cheese and I don’t want blood-stained eggs. For that reason, one of the things that I’m currently doing is cutting down on the animal products I consume. As a vegetarian, I already have a slight advantage to this. The day I can tolerate mushrooms is the day I know I’d survive as a vegan. (that’s probably a separate post topic).

One thing I’m really going to miss when I cut it out is leather. I know, very weird, a vegetarian who loves leather. Goes completely against my moral compass, it’s a dangerous exploitative industry to people and animals. Again, it’s just a habit I’ve been bought up with. Leather lasts, leather is good quality, leather, leather, leather. And in fact, a lot of the chemicals used in faux leather are worse for the environment than leather.

But anyway, I’m getting off track, and I told myself this post would be lighter than my last.

If you know me by now, you know I love a good list. I make lists of lists and lists of those lists, the list goes on.

Cutting out

  • bread (makes me tired)
  • refined carbs (white carbs)
  • alcohol (don’t like it anyway)
  • crisps (empty calories)
  • sweets (cows feet)

Cutting down

  • carbs in general
  • chocolate
  • eggs
  • yoghurt
  • cheese

Eating more/ substitutes

  • wholegrain oats/cereal
  • almond milk (because it’s delicious and I actually prefer the taste to regular milk)
  • fruit and nuts mixes
  • seed mixes
  • sorbet/ frozen yoghurt (dessert substitute)

 

I LOVE AVACOADOES! Yummy delicious fats that make the idea of going vegan realistic.

I’m getting silly now, so this is the end.

 

